Discontinuing Support for Google+ Social Network
In December 2018, Google announced their decision to shut down the Google+ social network for consumers, effective April 2, 2019. The decision was based on low usage, as well as challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. If you currently post to a Google+ page through Amplified Digital, whether as part of a Social Media or Reputation Management package, we will cease posting content to and managing any Google+ page effective March 1, 2019.
What to Expect With the Google+ Social Network Shutting Down
As early as February 4th, no new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events will be able to be created on the platform. On April 2nd, the profile pages will be shut down and Google will begin the process of deleting content from all Google+ accounts. This process will take a few months, however, so some information may still be present during, but eventually, everything will be removed. This does include photos and videos from Google+ within your Album Archive, so be sure to download and save any desired content prior to April. Photos and videos that are backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
Will This Affect my Google Maps Listing?
Although the Google+ network is being removed, your Google Map listing will not be affected. This product, called Google My Business, is separate from the Google+ social network, and all of your information there will remain intact.
What Else to Know about Google+ Going Away
If you have utilized the platform before, the removal of Google+ may affect other functionalities across the web. If you sign in to sites or apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will no longer function in the coming weeks. However, in some cases, this button may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button instead. You will still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see the Google Sign-in button.
Some websites used Google+ for comments, but this feature will be removed by March 7. All of the Google+ comments across all sites will be deleted beginning April 2.
If you are a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post within a public community.
Will this Change my Contract with Amplified Digital?
At this time, we will not be replacing Google+ with a different option, but we are continuously looking for ways to bring the highest-quality product suite to our clients. No adjustments will be made to our current rates due to the removal of this network as the content being syndicated to Google+ is still being published to the other social platforms within the social and reputation programs we offer.
We understand that for those using this product, there may be questions or concerns raised. Our team is here to make this process simple and worry-free. Please reach out to your Amplified contact for more information, or contact our team, to discuss any next steps you would like to take with your campaign.